21 Years In The Making- Part II

8th May 2013- Summer Begins.
Shortly after I opened a piece (Blue Roses) with the line ‘budding blue roses, the summer I dream’. This piece was publicated in early May, and would become the opening piece for Summer, perfectly fitting in with the theme of ‘lighter and better times’. Productivity was at a high at this time, several poems that would eventually feature in the epilogue were completed, as well as the likes of ‘Cold Water’.

13th July 2013- 2nd Teaser.
As the book began to come together, a second teaser was produced, combining the ‘angel’ theme with the tag-line ‘dreams are possibilities’. That week I then embarked on another challenging project, turning my (first ever piece to be published) short-story ‘Someone There?’ into an epic narrative piece (a la The Hanging Tree) specifically for TFA. I’d complete work on it quickly and name it ‘Westlake Avenue’.  It was also around this time I wrote a direct ‘follow-up’ to The Hanging Tree to feature in the book also.

TFA TEASER 2 small

From this point onwards, it was strictly TFA work, with changes in my life providing no distractions bar new ideas for poems, one by one the pieces began to fall in place. Heading into the autumn, naturally stress levels began to rise as we neared preparation for a Winter release.

16th September 2013- Cover Reveal.
After a drawn out period of design, the official Tears From Abaddon cover was officially revealed on the website on this date. It was starting to get real now and the (even more) shameful promoting began. More teasers were produced and pieces completed as we headed into the editing and finishing off phase. With ‘Gravity’ finished, so was Summer and the hard work began on the TFA main piece.

20th September 2013- Significant Movement.
Later in the week, the long awaited extract for TFA Part III (The Gallows) was produced and shared on twitter as work on each of the remaining pieces reached new levels and parts of the book itself began to come together.

29th October 2013- The Final Mile.
I now entered what I called on here ‘The Final Mile’, as I began to hermit myself in my office doing little else but work, specifically on Tale of Darkness, the book’s final piece intended to stand alone as summing up the whole ’21 years in the making ‘ angle, as well as final completions on the TFA piece.

30th October 2013- Tallenge Literature Competition Finalist.
As this was going on I was approached to enter some pieces of the TFA collection into a literature competition and would become a finalist in it. The competition is still on-going. This backed up my knowledge that what I was producing was good enough to publish.

3rd November 2013- Date Set.
I officially confirmed the release date for Tears From Abaddon and the final straight was well and truly in sight. There was still work to be done of course and editing and production continued throughout the month.

tfatweet

14th November 2013- Running Order Announced.
The next exciting reveal was the official book running order, published right here on the blog. Looking back over the poems was a nice eye-opener to my small-time writing success and the work I’d put in. Some of those pieces still needed work however.

23rd November 2013- Work Completed.
Two days before its release, I officially ceased physical work on Tears From Abaddon and endured the technical stuff over the weekend, in between heavily celebratory drinking. I could also preview the book to my followers at this point and announce on the 25th that it was good to go!!

tfa kindle title v

27th November 2013- Arrivals.
I arrived home on the Wednesday morning to shiny new copies of my book. Something 21 years in the making was now being held in my hand and read by the world.

tfatweetytweet

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

